Wykons’ Nelson on ABC 2nd team

IRON RIVER—West Iron County senior Steven Nelson has been voted to the all-U.P. Class ABC second team by the U.P. Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association during their meeting last week.
    Nelson was the only Wykon to win a postseason honor from the sports media group.
    Forest Park was blanked on the Class D first and second teams, but Josh Logan received special mention from voters, and teammates Riley Hendrickson and Max Nylund both got honorable mention.
    Ewen-Trout Creek’s Jake Witt was selected as both all-U.P. Class D player of the year and as Mr. U.P. Basketball. Iron Mountain sophomore Marcus Johnson was picked as Class ABC player of the year.
    Along with Witt and Johnson, the all-class “dream team” included Devin Schultz of Dollar Bay, Hart Holmgren from Ishpeming and Brandon Paul of Sault Ste. Marie.
    Gladstone was voted as Class AB team of the year, Iron Mountain won the Class C team honor, and Dollar Bay got the Class D award.
    Iron Mountain’s Bucky Johnson won the Class ABC coach award for the second time, and Jesse Kentala got the Class D coaching award after piloting Dollar Bay to the state semifinals.