Article Image Alt Text

Three West Iron boys honored in West Pac picks

IRON RIVER — Three West Iron County boys basketball players were honored by West Pac Conference coaches when the 2019-20 all-conference teams were selected on March 12.
    Junior center Justin Nelson was selected to the dream team, while senior guard Peyton Williams was picked to the first team in the Copper Division and senior forward Brayden Nelson was given honorable mention in the Copper Division.
    Justin Nelson averaged 16.2 points per game with a high game of 31 in his first full season of varsity ball, while Williams averaged 11.2 ppg. with a high of 19 and Brayden Nelson scored 5.3 ppg. with a high of 11.
    Justin Nelson was also selected to the West Pac all-defensive team.
    Iron Mountain junior Foster Wonders was named player of the year in the league, while Negaunee coach Dan Waterman was picked as coach of the year and Drew DuShane of Negaunee was selected as defensive player of the year.
    Also selected to the dream team were Marcus Johnson (Iron Mountain, senior), Brad Simonsen (Houghton, senior), Jason Waterman (Negaunee, senior) and Jakson Sager (Negaunee, senior).
    In addition to Williams, the rest of the Copper Division’s first team included: Eli McParlan (Calumet, senior), Trevor Torola (Calumet, senior), Carson Chynoweth (Hancock, junior) and Pablo Salgado (Houghton, junior)
    The Iron Division’s first team included: Drew Lindberg (Negaunee, senior), Zach Carlson (Westwood, sophomore), Jake Kugler (Ishpeming, senior), James Harnick (Gwinn, junior) and Tony Feira (Iron Mountain, senior).
    The remainder of the honorable mention Copper Division picks were JD Sebbas (Hancock, sophomore), Will Ramano (Houghton, senior) and Brevin Antilla (Calumet, junior).
    The remainder of the honorable mention Iron Division picks were Chas Kumpula (Negaunee, senior), Breck Bell (Ishpeming, junior), Jake Dumais (Iron Mountain, senior) and Taylor Dellangelo (Westwood, senior).
    The rest of the all-defensive team included Johnson of Iron Mountain, Carlson of Westwood, senior Will Twardzik of Calumet and senior Alex Munson of Negaunee.