Pellizzer first team all-West Pac

IRON RIVER—West Iron County senior guard Caden Pellizzer was selected to the West Pac Conference Copper Division first team by conference coaches on Feb. 26.
    Teammate James Swanson was given honorable mention.
    Pellizzer, a three-year varsity starter, averaged 15.2 points per game this year, including a 30-point outburst in a victory over Calumet on Feb. 21 that helped West Iron clinch a share of the Copper Division (western teams) crown.
    Swanson, a two-year starter, averaged 12.1 points per game with a high of 21.
    Iron Mountain sophomore Foster Wonders was named player of the year, while senior teammate Jaden Vicenzi was picked as defensive player of the year. IM coach Bucky Johnson was named coach of the year.
    The West Pac dream team was comprised of Marcus Johnson (Iron Mountain, junior guard), Matt Ojala (Calumet, senior guard), Jason Waterman (Negaunee, junior guard), Brad Sirard (Houghton, junior forward) and Tucker Taylor (Gwinn, senior forward).
    Joining Pellizzer on the Copper Division first team were George Butvilas (Houghton, senior guard), Louie Bogda (L’Anse, senior guard), Travis Ojala (Calumet, senior forward) and Reece Waara (L’Anse, senior guard).
    First-team Iron (East) Division selections were Jakson Sager (Negaunee, junior guard), Nathan Beckman (Westwood, senior guard), Gavin Sundberg (Ishpeming, senior guard), Vicenzi and Drew Lindberg (Negaunee, junior guard).
    Joining Swanson as honorable mention picks were Sam Keskimaki (Houghton, senior forward), Eli McParlan (Calumet, junior forward), Peyton Anderson (Hancock, senior forward), Alex Kissle (L’Anse, senior guard), Drew DuShane (Negaunee, junior guard), Austin Forbes (Gwinn, senior guard), Blake Hewitt (Westwood, senior forward), Darius Yohe (Ishpeming, senior forward) and Charlie Gerhard (Iron Mountain, senior forward).