Lundin named lineman of year; others honored

  • sports

IRONWOOD — West Iron County senior Nathan Lundin was selected as the Mitchell Snyder U.P. Lineman of the Year and three other Wykons were honored after the 2020 Upper Peninsula Sportswriters and Sportscasters 11-man football team was announced on Dec. 17.
Lundin, a 6-foot-3, 315-pound offensive and defensive lineman, was earlier named the Offensive Player of the Year in the West Pac Conference Iron Division.
West Iron senior Nathan Thomson joined Lundin on the dream team as he was selected as the punter. Senior Harrison Hogenmiller was picked as the first-team center, while senior fullback-linebacker Gage Larson was given honorable mention.
The Wykons finished the abbreviated season with a 7-1 record.
The UPPSA offensive player of the year was senior Kam Karp of Marquette, while the defensive player of the year was junior Desmond Mullen of Marquette. The large school team of the year was Marquette, and the small school team of the year was Iron Mountain.
The large school co-coaches of the year were Eric Mason of Marquette and Scott Menard of Sault Ste. Marie. The small school co-coaches of the year were Robin Marttila of Iron Mountain and Ben Olsen of Gwinn.