Golliher gets all-U.P. honors

IRON RIVER—West Iron County sophomore Eden Golliher was voted to the all-U.P. Class ABC second team by the U.P. Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association during the annual meeting last week.
    Two girls from both West Iron County and Forest Park received honorable mention: Anna Malmquist and Emily Nelson from the Wykons in Class ABC and Hannah Cross and Taylor Honkala from the Trojans in Class D.
    St. Ignace’s Linnie Gustafson was voted ABC player of the year and Miss U.P. Basketball by the voters. Chassell’s Miley Allen was voted Class D player of the year.
    Both Gustafson and Allen were voted to the all-class “dream team” along with Negaunee’s Natalie Bartle, Ishpeming’s Madigan Johns and Pickford’s Taylor Opolka.
    Sault Ste. Marie was chosen Class AB team of the year, St. Ignace was picked Class C team of the year, and state finalist Chassell was the top choice in Class D.
    Dorene Ingalls of St. Ignace was voted ABC coach of the year for the fifth time, and Chassell’s Brandi Hainault received the Class D top coach award for her first season.