Four WIC girls in West Pac picks

IRON RIVER—Four West Iron County girls basketball players were honored by West Pac Conference coaches when the all-conference teams were selected on Feb. 28.
    Junior forward Eden Golliher and junior center Emily Nelson were selected to the dream team, while junior guard Anna Malmquist was picked to the first team in the Copper Division and senior guard Colbi Laturi was given honorable mention.
    Golliher averaged a team-best 15.2 ppg. with a high of 25, while Nelson scored 11.4 ppg. with a high game of 21. Malmquist averaged 8.3 ppg. with a high of 14 and Laturi scored 7.1 ppg. with a high of 16.
    Golliher finished second in the player of the year voting, behind Westwood junior Tessa Leece, who was also voted defensive player of the year.
    Westwood coach Kurt Corcoran was named coach of the year. The Patriots finished the regular season with a 19-1 record and won the Iron Division with a record of 12-1. The Wykons finished the season with a 19-3 record and won the Copper Division with a 11-2 mark.
    Also selected to the dream team were Madi Koski (Westwood, junior guard), Kenzie Karki (Negaunee, senior guard) and Riley Poupore (Iron Mountain, senior forward).
    The rest of the Copper Division first team included: Celia Kiilunen (Calumet, senior guard), Maija Rice (L’Anse, sophomore guard), Cassie Ryynanen (Houghton, senior guard) and Taylor Sebbas (Hancock, junior forward).
    The Iron Division’s first team included: Abby Nelson (Negaunee, senior forward), Karlie Patron (Westwood, junior forward), Marissa Delmont (Gwinn, junior guard), Trisha McGuire (Gwinn, senior guard) and Madison Pruett (Ishpeming, senior guard).
    The remainder of the honorable mention picks were: Hannah Voskuhl (Negaunee, senior guard), Emma Poirier (Ishpeming, junior guard), Kailyn Voskuhl (L’Anse, junior guard), Brooke Mannor (Gwinn, senior guard), Ellie Miller (Westwood, sophomore center), Elli Djerf (Calumet, sophomore guard), Mary Ellen Trewhella (Houghton, sophomore guard), D’Andra Kero (Hancock, junior guard) and Saylor Swartout (Iron Mountain, senior guard)