Emmers, Showers honored by Skyline league coaches

CRYSTAL FALLS — Forest Park juniors Keall Emmers and Tommy Showers were named to the 2019-20 Skyline Central Conference second team in a vote of conference coaches on March 10.
    Emmers led the Trojans in scoring at 14 points per game with a high of 20, while Showers was the team’s second-leading scorer at 11 points per game and a high game of 22.
    Senior Brett LaFord of Carney-Nadeau was named the player of the year, while junior Jeff VanHolla of Norway was given the individual sportsmanship award. Mid Peninsula was given the team sportsmanship award and senior Cameron Schultz of North Dickinson won the free throw award for best percentage (83.4)
    Norway’s Jeff Gallino was named the coach of the year as he guided the Knights to a large school co-championship with Munising. Carney-Nadeau and North Central shared the small school crown.
    The league’s first team consisted of Joshua Huotari (Munising, senior, unanimous choice), Kody Hendricks (Norway, senior, unanimous choice), Tyler Sundling (Rapid River, senior), Luke Gorzinski (North Central, freshman), Beau Koffman (Carney-Nadeau junior), Zach Englund (Mid Peninsula, senior), Tony Demers (Rapid River, senior) and Cameron Schultz (North Dickinson, senior)
    Joining Emmers and Showers on the first team were: Noah Gorzinski (North Central, senior), Logan Parolini (Norway, junior), Austin Killips (Munising, senior), Max Baumler (Carney-Nadeau, senior) Bryce Kuehnau (Stephenson, junior) and Riley Bray (Bark River-Harris, senior)
    Those players given honorable mention were: Nick Javurek, (Bark-River Harris, junior), Trenton Wood-Keshick (Bark River-Harris, junior), Dylan Trudell (Mid Peninsula, senior), Kane Nebel (Munising, freshman), Maximus Mattson (North Dickinson, sophomore), Braydon Moss (Rapid River, senior) and Parker Maki (Superior Central, junior).
    The defensive player of the year was Luke Gorzinski of North Central.
    The rest of the all-defensive team included: Englund, Huotari, Hendricks, LaFord, Sundling, Kuehnau, Carter Zawacki (Bark River-Harris, junior), Mike Flanagan (Carney-Nadeau, junior) and Jason Cornish (Munising, senior).