Article Image Alt Text

Bantams champs at Merrill tourney

The Ironwood/Iron River Polar Hawks Bantam hockey team won a tournament in Merrill, Wis., recently. Front row, from left: Evan Hedtke, coach Mike Hedtke, Jamie Jett, Greg Ghiotto, Nathan Thomson, Hank Bailey, Noah Thomson. Back row: coach Brian Roehm, Tommy Lundin, Tyler Morrison, C.J. Sorensen, Dakota Hawkes, Ethan Roehm, Trey Bociek and coach Dave Lundin.

MERRILL, Wis.—The Ironwood/Iron River Polar Hawks Bantam co-op team were crowned champions of a tournament in Merrill, Wis., recently.
    The Polar Hawks outscored their opponents 32-6 during the weekend, racking up wins against Sheboygan, Mosinee, Rhinelander and ending with Beaver Dam in the championship game.
    Tyler Morrison led all scoring with 19 goals for the weekend.  Goalie Evan Hedtke was solid in net and stopped 62 of the 68 shots he faced. Morrison and Tommy Lundin scored hat-tricks over the weekend, while Nathan Thomson earned a playmaker.  
    Six Ironwood Polar Bears --Tyler Morrison, CJ Sorensen, Ethan Roehm, Tommy Lundin, Jamie Jett, Hank Bailey--and six Iron River Ice Hawks-- Dakota Hawkes, Evan Hedtke, Trey Bociek, Greg Ghiotto, Nathan Thomson and Noah Thomson--complete this year’s roster.
     Coaches are Mike Hedtke, Brian Roehm and Dave Lundin. The group refers to itself as the Polar Hawks, a combination of the two organization names.  This is the second year of this Bantam level co-op program.  
    The Polar Hawks will be hosting the Bantam District 8 Tournament in Iron River Feb. 13-15.  The state tournament will be played in Marquette this year March 6-8.