Article Image Alt Text

All U.P. football teams announced

MARQUETTE—The Upper Peninsula Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association’s all-U.P. football teams were selected during its annual football meeting on Nov. 1.
    Both West Iron County and Forest Park were well represented on this year’s teams.
    Wykon senior guard Dakota Hawkes was named to the 11-man Dream Team, while Trojan senior Evan Hedtke was selected to the 8-man Dream Team as an offensive lineman and kicker. Forest Park senior Tommy Peltoma made the Dream Team as a defensive tackle, while junior Gabe Scarlassara was picked to the Dream Team as a linebacker/defensive back.
    Additionally, West Iron County also placed players on the small school first team, including junior Nathan Thomson (running back) and seniors Brayden Nelson (defensive end) and Noah Thomson (linebacker).
    Senior Trey Bociek and junior Nathan Lundin were given honorable mention.
    Forest Park was also represented on the 8-man first team by sophomore Tim Bendick (defensive tackle), junior Tommy Showers (defensive end) and Hedtke (punter).
    Special awards in 11-player football included:
    -Offensive Large School Player of the Year – Keagan Monroe, Menominee
    -Offensive Small School Player of the Year – Marcus Johnson, Iron Mountain
    -Defensive Large School Player of the Year – Alex Studebaker, Calumet
    -Defensive Small School Player of the Year – Ben Pruett, Ishpeming
    -Class AB Team of the Year – Marquette
    -Class C Team of the Year – Iron Mountain
    -Class D/Division 8 Team of the Year – Ishpeming
    -Large School Coach of the Year – Scott Syrjala, Westwood; Eric Mason, Marquette
    -Small School Coach of the Year – Robin Martilla, Iron Mountain
    -Mitchell Snyder Lineman of the Year – Jacob Kugler, Ishpeming
    Special awards in eight-player football included:
    -Offensive Player of the Year – Noah Gorzinski, North Central
    -Defensive Player of the Year – Jimmy Storey, Pickford
    -Team of the Year – North Central
    -Coach of the Year – Leo Gorzinski, North Central