Article Image Alt Text

Bantams face-off against five teams to win championship on home ice

The Iron River/Ironwood “Polar Hawks” Bantam co-op team cleared the ice of five teams to win the championship trophy during the Michigan Amateur Hockey Association District 8 tournament on Feb. 13-15 at the Caspian Ice Arena. They beat Newbery (13-1), Houghton (7-1), Iron Range Negaunee (14-1), Escanaba (9-1) and Calumet (6-0).  Pictured are, in front, goalie Evan Hedtke; second row, from left, Jamie Jett, Nathan Thomson, Hank Bailey, Greg Ghiotto and Noah Thomson; third row, coach Brian Roehm, Trey Bociek, Tommy Lundin, CJ Sorensen, Dakota Hawkes, coach Dave Lundin and coach Mike Hedtke; back row Tyler Morrison and Ethan Roehm.