Article Image Alt Text

Aho new County Board chairman

CRYSTAL FALLS—Tim Aho was elected chairman of the Iron County Board of Commissioners at the board’s organizational on Jan. 6.
    Aho was elected chairman by a unanimous vote after being nominated by Patti Peretto. Aho served as the chair of the Finance Committee in 2014.
    James Brennan was elected unanimously as the vice-chair after being nominated by Aho. Brennan served as the board chairman in 2014.
    The board also appointed Peretto to serve as the finance chair.
    The board also welcomed Sharon Leonoff as new commissioner. She replaced Carl Lind, who did not seek re-election in November.
    Also at the organizational meeting, the board:
    --Tabled a resolution that the board chair only serve a one-year term
    --Tabled a decision to continue the appointment of civil council Steven Tinti. The board will pick up the discussion at its regular monthly meeting.
    --Adopted the following as depositories for county funds: Wells Fargo, First National Bank of Crystal Falls, First Merit Bank of Iron River, Miners State Bank, CoVantage Credit Union and other out-of-county depositories as designated.
    The regular monthly meeting will be held on Tuesday beginning at 4 p.m.