August 22, 2014

Subscriber Login

County Board will get new members PDF Print E-mail
Written by Peter Nocerini   
Tuesday, April 29, 2014 8:11 AM

CRYSTAL FALLS—There will be at least three new members of the Iron County Board of Commissioners next year.
The deadline for filing for partisan office in the 2014 election arrived April 22, with only two of the current commissioners filing for new two-year terms.
James Brennan, current County Board chairman, is running unopposed in District 2 (Bates Township and the northern half of the city of Iron River).
District 1 incumbent Patti Peretto is also seeking a new term but will be challenged by Mark Polley in the Democratic primary. The district includes the city of Gaastra, Iron River Township and Stambaugh Township.
Three candidates filed in District 4 (city of Crystal Falls and Mastodon Township). They are Raymond Kudwa, Sharon Leonoff and Ernest Martyn Ness. With all three running as Democrats, the August primary likely decides who will fill the seat starting next January. Carl Lind, the District 4 incumbent, decided not to seek a new term.
No candidates filed for office in two districts: District 3 (south half of the city of Iron River and city of Caspian) and District 5 (Hematite Township, Crystal Falls Township and Mansfield Township).
That means no names will appear on the Aug. 5 primary ballot in those districts. Write-in campaigns will decide who will appear on the ballot in November. District 3 is currently represented by Raymond Coates, and Timothy Aho represents District 5.
There could be other candidates on the ballot for the County Board seats: The filing deadline for candidates running without party affiliation is July 17.
County, Townships
Most county and township elected offices are four-year terms that go before voters again in 2016. Only a few races to complete terms will be on the ballot this year.
Two county-wide races are unopposed:
--County clerk: Diane Hilberg is unopposed for the final two years of the term. She was appointed clerk after Joan Luhtanen retired.
--Road Commission: Incumbent Ernest Schmidt of Bates Township was the only candidate to file for a new six-year term.
Two township races also are unopposed:
--Hematite Township constable: Michael Mainville (D).
--Mansfield Township treasurer: Deborah Strelecki (D).   
Two precinct delegates also filed:
--Iron River, third precinct: Alan Arcand (R).
--Caspian: Bonnie Passamani (D).
In the 110th District of the state House, incumbent Scott Dianda (D-Calumet) is running for a new two-year term. Bob Michaels (R-Ironwood) was the only other candidate to file.
Ion the 38th state Senate District, incumbent Tom Casperson (R-Escanaba) is being challenged by two Democrats, Christopher M. Germain (D-Escanaba) and Tim LaMarche (D-Gladstone), as he seeks a new four-year term.
In the First District, incumbent Dan Benishek (R-Crystal Falls) faces a primary challenge from Alan Arcand (R-Iron River). The only Democrat to file is Jerry Cannon (D-Traverse City).
The U.S. Senate race is wide open, following the decision of long-time Sen. Carl Levin not to seek another term. Running for Levin’s seat are Gary Peters (D-Bloomfield Township) and Terri Lynn Land (R-Grandville).


Add comment

Security code