August 23, 2014

Subscriber Login

Vote on Aug. 7 Primary to decide most county offices PDF Print E-mail
Written by Staff Reports   
Tuesday, July 31, 2012 1:03 PM

IRON COUNTY—The lineups for the November election will be set and finalized next Tuesday, Aug. 7, when Iron County voters take part in the Democratic and Republican primaries.
 Voters will only be able to vote in one party’s primary—you can’t split votes—but you don’t have to declare a party in advance.

 While all the offices will be listed on the ballot, only a few local races are being contested: county-wide offices, seats on the County Board and a number of township offices.
 Ballot proposals
 Voters will also decide two ballot proposals.
 One is for all Iron County voters: The allocated millage is up for renewal. The levy is 7.85 mills, which will be divided among the county (6.43 mills); townships (1.25 mills); and the Dickinson-Iron Intermediate School District (0.17 mills).
 The second proposal is for those living in the Forest Park School District. Forest Park wants to borrow $995,000 via bonds, which would be paid back over a period of eight years or less. The millage to pay back the bond is estimated at 0.12 mills in the first year and 0.62 mills each year after that.
 The funds would be used for technology equipment and systems and to remodel, equip and furnish school facilities (lighting, security, energy, improving school sites and for school buses).
 By state law, the funds may not be used to pay for teacher or administrator salaries or for repair, maintenance or other operating costs.
 Two county-wide offices will be decided in the primary.
 For sheriff, incumbent Mark Valesano is being challenged by Donald W. Nordstrom Jr. in the Democratic primary.
 For county treasurer, Melanie Camps and Punner Franzene are both seeking the Democratic nomination. Incumbent Marcia Cornelia is not seeking a new term.
 The other county officers are running unopposed in the primary. Melissa Powell, prosecuting attorney; Joan Luhtanen, county clerk; Joetta M. Grieg, register of deeds; Tom Karvala, mine inspector; Tom Clark, drain commissioner; and Dan Germic and Christopher Sholander, two seats on the Road Commission.
 All but Grieg and Sholander are incumbents—Mark Selmo, the incumbent register of deeds, is not running for a new term. Neither is Carl Sholander, current Road Commission chairman; his son is running for the seat.
 Voters will decide three seats on the County Board. Two incumbents are running unopposed.
 --In District 1 (Iron River Township, Stambaugh Township and city of Gaastra), current Board Chairman Wayne Wales is challenged by former Chairman Patti A. Peretto.
 --In District 2 (Bates Township and the north two precincts in the city of Iron River), Jim Brennan and Roger Zanon are seeking the nomination. Incumbent Francis A. Wills is not running.
 --In District 5 (Hematite Township, Crystal Falls Township and Mansfield Township), incumbent Beverly Camp is being challenged by John L. Faccin.
 Unopposed are Rosalie A. King (District 3, city of Caspian and the south two precincts in the city of Iron River) and Carl L. Lind (District 4, city of Crystal Falls and Mastodon Township).
 As with the county-wide offices, all are running as Democrats. Nobody filed as Republicans, so all the primary winners will likely be unopposed in November.

 Bates Township: Supervisor Grant Helgemo is being challenged by Douglas L. Bonno. Both are Democrats. Other offices are unopposed.
 Crystal Falls Township: No contested races. One trustee position will be decided by write-ins.
 Hematite Township: No contested races in either primary or general election.
 Iron River Township: The incumbent clerk and treasurer are being challenged. Clerk Amber Laturi is running against Dawn Pisoni, and Treasurer Nancy Clements is challenged by Sherri Tarsi and Robert Tulppo. The clerk candidates are Democrats, and the treasurer candidates are Republicans.
 Mansfield Township: No contested races.
 Mastodon Township: No contested races in either primary or general election.
 Stambaugh Township: Three Democratic candidates are seeking two seats as trustee. They are incumbents George Brunswick and Kevin S. Isaacson and challenger Julius Bonel.
 Four Republicans are seeking the nomination for U.S. Senate: Clark Durant, Gary Glenn, Randy Hekman and Pete Hoekstra. The winner will face Democratic Sen. Debbie Stabenow in November.
 Two Democrats are running for the 110th District nomination in the State House: Scott Dianda and William D. Lucius. The winner will face Republican Rep. Matt E. Huuki in November.


Add comment

Security code