August 22, 2014

Subscriber Login

Wales, Camp face election challenges PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, May 22, 2012 1:53 PM

IRON COUNTY—The lineups are set, and action is about to begin locally in election year 2012.
 The candidate list was finalized with the May 15 filing deadline. The deadline for candidates to withdraw was May 18.
 There will be at least one new member of the County Board in 2013, as District 2 Commissioner Fran Wills decided not to run for a new term. Seeking the seat are Jim Brennan and Roger Zanon.

 District 2 includes Bates Township and the north half of the city of Iron River (Precincts 1 and 2).
 Incumbents are running in the other four districts, and two of them are going unopposed. In District 3 (Caspian and the south half of Iron River), Rosalie A. King is unopposed, and in District 4 (city of Crystal Falls and Mastodon Township), Carl L. Lind is unopposed. (Shelby Harrington originally filed for the District 4 seat but later withdrew.)
 In District 1 (Iron River and Stambaugh townships and city of Gaastra), Board Chairman Wayne Wales faces a challenge from Patti A. Peretto, former commissioner and board chairman. In District 5 (Hematite, Crystal Falls and Mansfield townships), incumbent Beverly Camp is being challenged by John L. Faccin.
 All are running as Democrats, so the races will be decided by the Aug. 7 primary. In fact, all candidates running for county office filed as Democrats, so the roster of county office-holders for 2013 should be decided in August.
 For county-wide races, there will be primary battles for the offices of sheriff, treasurer and road commissioner.
 Mark Valesano, the incumbent sheriff, is being challenged by Donald W. Nordstrom Jr. of Iron River. For road commissioner, incumbent Dan Germic will face Christopher Sholander.
 Incumbent County Treasurer Marcia Cornelia is not running this year, and Melanie Camps and Punner Franzene have filed to take the treasurer’s post.
 Running unopposed are Melissa A. Powell, prosecuting attorney; Joan Luhtanen, county clerk; Joetta A. Greig, register of deeds; Tom Karvala, mine inspector; and Tom Clark, drain commissioner.
 All are incumbents except Greig. The current register of deeds, Mark Selmo, is not seeking a new term.
 Precinct delegates also filed in several precincts. They are listed below. All are uncontested races.
 Crystal Falls Township: Patricia Ashcraft (R). Caspian: Bonnie J. Passamani (D), Alan Arcand (R). Crystal Falls (city): Edward R. Chantiny (R). Iron River (city), Precinct 3: Erik Koenig (R), Ben Smith (D).




+1 #1 2012-07-17 22:48
Go Don!!!! Nordstrom for sheriff!!!!!

Add comment

Security code